Lastlings – Perfect World (Album)

On June 27, 2023 by ocedm

One of the groups I’ve started listening to more over the over the past couple of years has been the Australian brother and sister duo Lastlings, with songs like “No Time”, “Take My Hand”, and “Deja Vu” catching my attention. Having already released a few tracks from their next album over the past eight months, producer/instrumentalist Josh Dowdle and singer/songwriter Amy Dowdle have now released their second album titled “Perfect World”.

The Japanese/Australian group from Queensland craft an album with dreamy vocals, captivating melodies, and euphoric soundscapes in the 12 song set. The album was put out on Rose Avenue Records, the Los Angeles based record label founded by RÜFÜS DU SOL in 2018.

Amy shares that “It’s about seeing and accepting the imperfect things in life. Everything is perfect when you’re growing up and watching all the princess movies. You have this idea of love, and growing up, you start to realize it can be messy, but it’s still very beautiful. In this album, we want to show everyone that that is okay. Life is going to be messy; all these things happen, and you’re not alone.”

“We were trying to explore a bit of scientific examination, like contradicting organic and artificial, natural versus engineered, and random verses planned,” adds Josh.

The album consists of “Holding Me Like Water”, “Perfect World”, “Better Off Without You”, “Noise”, “Out My Head”, and “Get What You Want”. Also included are “Let You In”, “Learning To Love”, “Gravity”, “Closer”, “What Good Am I”, and “Far From Falling”.

The Gold Coast duo, who first came together in 2015, will start their Perfect World North America tour this fall, with a stop at the Fonda Theatre in Los Angeles on Friday October 6.

In November 2020, Lastlings released their debut album in “First Contact” from Rose Avenue Records. They have played alongside RÜFÜS DU SOL at iconic venues including Colorado’s Red Rocks Amphitheater, Los Angeles State Historic Park, and Sundream Baja in Mexico.

Lastlings – Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / SoundCloud

Buy / Stream

Lastlings – Perfect World (Album) Tracklist:

01. Lastlings – Holding Me Like Water (Original Mix)
02. Lastlings – Perfect World (Original Mix)
03. Lastlings – Better Off Without You (Original Mix)
04. Lastlings – Noise (Original Mix)
05. Lastlings – Out My Head (Original Mix)
06. Lastlings – Get What You Want (Original Mix)
07. Lastlings – Let You In (Original Mix)
08. Lastlings – Learning To Love (Original Mix)
09. Lastlings – Gravity (Original Mix)
10. Lastlings – Closer (Original Mix)
11. Lastlings – What Good Am I (Original Mix)
12. Lastlings – Far From Falling (Original Mix)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *